Circulation Coins

In 2014, the Central Bank stopped issuing the one cent coin, which had been in circulation since 1973. The Bank stipulated that although it would no longer issue the denomination, it would remain the lowest unit of pricing, and that when presented, one cent coins should continue to be accepted by retailers and commercial banks but not given as change.

With the withdrawal of the one cent coin, four denominations remain in circulation: 5 cent, 10 cent, 25 cent and 1 dollar. The Coat of Arms is a common image on all denominations, but each also features a unique image and different sizes.

Copyright 2021 by Central Bank of Barbados