Central Bank of Barbados Numismatic Programme

The Central Bank of The Central Bank of Barbados’ numismatic programme began in 1973 when the Franklin Mint of Pennsylvania produced an eight-coin proof set for the Bank. The set contained the proof replica of the (then) circulation coins: the one cent, five cent, 10 cent, 25 cent and one dollar, in addition to a silver two dollar coin featuring the staghorn coral and native West Indian reef fish, a five dollar coin with the historic Shell Fountain in Trafalgar Square (now Heroes Square) and a 10 dollar coin carrying a dramatic depiction of Neptune. The set was presented in a royal blue case.

The coins available in this proof set and in all sets and individual coins available in the numismatic programme (with the exception of the Brilliant Uncirculated Set) differ from Barbadian circulation coins as a result of the minting process. Whereas circulation coins are mass-produced, Barbados’ numismatic coins are individually struck, thereby ensuring greater quality.

In recent years, the Central Bank has shifted focus from sets to individual coins, including the Barbados: Home of the Masters coins series, which featured coins – available in either gold or silver – bearing the likeness of the Right Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers and the world renowned Three W’s (Sir Clyde Walcott, Sir Everton Weekes and Sir Frank Worrell).

Copyright 2017 by Central Bank of Barbados