Central Bank of Barbados Hosts Independence Essay Competition

Author(s): Central Bank Of Barbados

Created 29 Sep, 2016
Categories General Press Release
Views: 11759

Local teenagers will have the opportunity to express their opinions about Barbados’ independence and about the direction in which the island should go through the Central Bank of Barbados’ 2016 Sir Winston Scott Memorial Lecture Schools’ Essay Competition.

The competition, which is open to 14 to 18-year -olds from all of the island’s secondary schools, asks students to explore the topic “What is the meaning of Independence to Barbados? What have we achieved? What should we aim for?

“Our Sir Winston Scott Memorial Lecturer this year is Professor Richard Drayton, a Barbadian historian who now teaches at King’s College in London. Appropriately, with the lecture taking place during our golden jubilee, he will be speaking about the idea of independence, so we decided to take it a step further and give our young, bright minds a chance to share their perspectives,” explained Novaline Brewster, Public Affairs Officer at the Central Bank. “Professor Drayton will also act as chief judge for the competition.”

“The winner of the essay competition will receive an all-expenses paid trip for two to England, where he or she as well as a parent or companion will visit Kings College,” Brewster revealed. “The winner will also receive a trophy, while the winning school will receive an iPad and a plaque. There are also some attractive prizes for the second and third place finishers and their schools.” Cave Shepherd is a co-sponsor of the competition.

Essays must be between 1,000 and 1,500 words, and entrants will be judged on their ability to adhere to the topic and on the clarity and structure of their argument as well as on their grammar. Students must submit their essays to communications@centralbank.org,bb by Friday, October 14, 2016. The winners will receive their prizes at the Sir Winston Scott Memorial Lecture on November 28.

The full judging panel is Professor Richard Drayton, Dr. Henderson Carter, Dr. Pedro Welch, Mrs. Donna Boyce Jackman, Mrs. Claire Lucas, and Mr. Elson Gaskin.

Click for competition details


Copyright 2020 by Central Bank of Barbados